Skip to content

Three days after being accepted, Matt Pendergast commits to play football at Queen’s

April 17, 2013
Matt Pendergast of Holy Cross takes down a Frontenac player during a high school  game last fall. “He’s a tough, physical kid, scrappy,”  Queen’s coach Pat Sheahan said. “He’s a great addition to our program, he really is.”                                                              — sportsgate.ca photo

Matt Pendergast of Holy Cross takes down a Frontenac player during a high school game last fall. “He’s a tough, physical kid, scrappy,” Queen’s coach Pat Sheahan said. “He’s a great addition to our program, he really is.”                             — sportsgate.ca photo

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

By CLAUDE SCILLEY

Pat Sheahan finally got himself a Pendergast.

“I remember recruiting his dad,” Sheahan, coach of the Queen’s Golden Gaels, recalled Tuesday at a news conference where Matt Pendergast was introduced as a member of this year’s class of incoming football freshmen.

Matt’s father, Tim, was an aspiring quarterback from Scolland Hall 25 years ago. He spurned Sheahan’s advances on behalf of McGill, when the coach was in charge of recruiting there.

Tim Pendergast wound up at Queen’s instead and five years later, he quarterback the Gaels to the Vanier Cup.

“I had to go all the way up to North Bay (for Tim),” Sheahan said, chuckling. “We didn’t put in as many miles here.”

The younger Pendergast is homegrown, coming to Queen’s from Holy Cross Secondary School, where his father happens to be the senior football coach.

“We’ve good representation across the generations here,” Sheahan said. “I can’t believe I’m still here to see it happen but I guess I’m getting to that age.

“It’s kind of fun to see.”

MATT PENDERGAAST

MATT PENDERGAST

Matt Pendergast, a defensive back who was one of the pre-eminent players in the Kingston Area Secondary Schools Athletic Association last fall, was one of four players who will be coming to Queen’s in the fall who were introduced to the media Tuesday. The others are Nick Dowd, a linebacker-DB from La Salle, defensive back Kyle O’Hara from Ottawa Ashbury and Brendan Ginn, an offensive lineman from Kingston who played last fall at the Niagara Academy in Niagara Falls, Ont.

Sheahan was obviously pleased with the newcomers.

“We got some quality kids,” he said.

Sheahan characterized Matt Pendergast as an intelligent football player.

“Matt is a fine young athlete, he’s played on both sides of the ball, he’s got a great head for the game,” Sheahan said. “He’s a tough, physical kid, scrappy.

“He’s a great addition to our program, he really is.”

Pendergast’s post-secondary future was in limbo until three days ago, when he returned home from the gym to good news.

“My mom said I got accepted to Commerce,” he said. “I was really excited. I emailed the coach almost instantly after I talked to my parents.”

Pendergast said Queen’s Commerce was his first choice, and he’s happy he didn’t have to choose between something else at Queen’s, or commerce somewhere else.

“Growing up with my dad, coming to Richardson on Saturdays, and basketball games, I always liked the teams, rooted for them,” he said.

“He never pushed me in any direction. In the past couple of years I realized I had an interest in business and I wanted to pursue that. I looked at the schools and I heard that Queen’s had an excellent business program. I had to pick up my marks but I really wanted to come here.”

Pendergast says he’s coming to Queen’s with modest expectations.

“There’s a bunch of different things that can happen,” he said. “Clearly, I’m not going in as the smartest guy in Commerce so I have to work hard but I think if I do that I can expect good things.”

From → CIS football

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

