Skip to content

Overtime victory gives Halton Hills junior C lacrosse title

August 19, 2013

Adam Charalambides’ fourth goal of the game, unassisted midway through a 10-minute overtime period, proved to be the winner as the Halton Hills Bulldogs claimed the Ontario Junior C Lacrosse League championship with an 11-10 win over the Clarington Shamrox.

The final game of the four-team Meredith Cup tournament was played Sunday afternoon in Cornwall.

The teams were tied 2-2 after the first period but Halton Hills, the West division champion that posted the best record in the league during the regular year, scored four times in the first 10 minutes of the second period.

Clarington, the three-time defending league champion, closed to 7-5 by the end of the period but Charalambides scored twice in the first 67 seconds of the third period as the Bulldogs took a four-goal lead. The Shamrox scored two goals in the next five minutes to get back into it, and Aaron Woods’ third goal of the game at 18:03 send the game into the extra period.

Halton Hills scored the first two goals of overtime and Keenan Cook scored for Clarington on a power play with just over two minutes left, but the Shamrox could not get the equalizer.

Marty Burwell had two goals and four assists for Halton Hills, while Mike Nicolucci had a goal and three assists. Drew Coleman collected the goaltending win.

For Clarington, Cook finished with three goals and four assists and Garrett Williams assisted on eight of his team’s 10 goals. Woods had three goals and two assists and Courtland Araujo had two goals before he was tossed from the game after receiving his fifth penalty midway through the third period.

Halton Hills took 22 of 41 penalties in a game from which four players were ejected.

It was the first league title for Halton Hills, which was undefeated in four games at the tournament and ended the year on a 14-game winning streak, 12 of which came in the playoffs. Clarington was 1-2-1.

Cornwall, the East division champion making its third straight appearance at the final four tournament, was 1-1-1 while the Hamilton Bengals went 0-3.


From → Lacrosse

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: