Skip to content

Finalists named for local amateur athlete-of-the-year award

February 2, 2014

Eleven Kingston-area athletes have been selected as finalists for this year’s Kiwanis Amateur Athlete of the Year award.

The eleven, chosen by a committee of Kiwanians and local sports media representatives, are:

• Lacrosse player Kyle Aylesworth

• Paddler Isiah Higgs

• Fencer Kerr Hutchinson

• Golfer Austin James

• Basketball player Owen Klassen

• Hockey player Genevieve Lacasse

• Mountain cyclist Evan McNeely

• Golfer Conor Rodrigues

• Boxer Ali Rosen

• Wrestler T.J. Taylor

• Wrestler Natalie Vecchio

As well, three builders —Doug Jeffries, Jamie Turcotte and Sandy Han — will be honoured Thursday, Feb. 13 at 34th annual awards banquet at the Ambassador Hotel, where the winner of the Gus Marker Trophy will be announced.

Tickets, $45 apiece, must be purchased in advance by Feb 10. They are available from Kent Winterstein at the La Salle Mews or Marc F. Raymond Opticians, 324 King St. East.


From → Amateur sport

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: